top of page


A much anticipated debut album by folk singer Hannah Sanders. 
Charms Against Sorrow showcases a stunning voice of unaffected beauty, with a range, elasticity and purity so rarely encountered in the modern folk landscape. Clearly a singer with a deep understanding of traditional song, Hannah seems equally adept at delivering love songs like “I Gave My Love a Cherry” with intimacy and simplicity as she is at telling a dark murder ballad like “Miles Weatherhill” with real intensity and drama.

An English singer who spent much of her life in America, influence from either side of the ocean is clear from these arrangements, which breathe new life into a exquisite collection of folk songs. Hannah (vocals, dulcimer, guitar) is joined by Ben Savage on dobro and guitar, Jon Thorne (Lamb, John Smith, Martha Tilston) on double bass, Evan Carson (The Willows, Sam Kelly) on percussion, and Anna Scott on Cello. There are also guest appearances from Jade Rhiannon, and Hannah’s sister Ruth Sanders on vocals.
  • Details

    1. I'll Weave My Love a Garland
    2. Joshuay
    3. The Werewolf (Michael Hurley)
    4. Go Your Way (Anne Briggs)
    5. Geordie
    6. A Sailor's Life
    7. Bonnie Bunch of Roses + Mayflower Stranger
    8. I Gave My Love a Cherry
    9. Pleasant and Delightful
    10. Miles Weatherhill and Sarah Bell
    11. Lord Franklin

    Engineered and Produced by Ben Savage
    Mastered by Nick Cooke
    Design and Photography by Sid Ceasar
bottom of page